Finding my feet

I didn’t write anything yesterday, as I was a bit overwhelmed by my first ever LIANZA conference.  Today, I am much more enthused, and less worried about how to find my way back to my room. 

I’ve seen/heard lots of cool stuff today –  my favourite so far would have to be Roy Tennant.   He stressed how important it is to continually review and adapt our systems and services to meet the needs of our customers.  He said heaps of other good stuff too, but unfortunately,  I can’t make sense of my notes. 

 The most striking thing about conference for me, is how progressive CCL are.  Many of the practices that are being encouraged, we already do.  Blogging, is one example of this.   Our strong commitment to professional development is another.  I’m feeling that a lot of what is being talked about is either geared to academic libraries, or small centres.  It’s good to be made aware of what’s going on out there, but it is a bit of an eye opener.

Yesterday I enjoyed a session on collecting ephemera.  Not only were there lots of pretty pictures, but it was very thought provoking.  It’s something I have never paid  much attention to, and now I’m definitely going to be bringing ANZC  those local government campaign fliers that keep appearing in my mailbox.  Especially good was  the thank you that Susan and Vera  (ANZC) received at the end.

Ok, I ‘m off to something about creating a new art, design and media library now.  Hopefully more pretty pictures. I will try to report from the conference dinner, as I am expecting hi-jinks.

4 thoughts on “Finding my feet

  1. Helen September 11, 2007 / 3:22 am

    I agree, Erin. CCL are doing really well. I attended an excellent session yesterday with Paul Reynolds on Web 2.0. He cited the CCL blog as exemplary, particularly drawing attention to the excellent content posted by Donna and Robyn while in Auckland at the festival.

  2. Erin September 11, 2007 / 5:42 am

    Yes, I’m sorry I missed that. Instead I was at the very boring What Lurks Behind the University Reference Desk workshop.

  3. Paul September 11, 2007 / 2:55 pm

    I would like to hear more about what Donna and Susan were thanked for from the ephemera angle.

  4. Erin September 11, 2007 / 10:46 pm

    I am not sure what the extent of Vera and Susan’s involvement was – perhaps they could comment here.

Leave a Reply

