Halmstad Library – Sweden

I am the Places and Spaces Manager at Christchurch City Libraries. In May 2013, I will be visiting libraries in Europe as part of my Edith Jessie Carnell LIANZA Travelling Scholarship.

I will be posting during (and before) my trip as one way of sharing my learning with the library profession in New Zealand.

This post looks at Halmstad – Sweden. Besides enjoying the gorgeous location of this library I will be looking at, among other things, the entrance to the building. It is noticeable that “The entrance is designed to engender a feeling of dynamism, movement and activity”:

Currently we are working on the areas and locations of services and spaces for the new Central library and have similar thoughts about what should go on the ground floor. This building will be of particular interest to me and I have a great feeling of optimism about what I am going to see and learn.

Photo of Swedish Library

2 thoughts on “Halmstad Library – Sweden

  1. raindoglibs March 15, 2013 / 4:25 pm

    Hi Sally, congrats on your scholarship! I look forward to hearing of your adventures.

    • Sally March 15, 2013 / 4:28 pm

      Thanks Remy, feel free to contribute or ask questions. It is all helpful.

Leave a Reply

